Past, Present and Future entered a bar. It was tense.

Kabul Bagh-e Arg

Kabul Bagh-e Arg

Since coming to Afghanistan, I had wondered.

How did it look like before the wars? In the 70s? 50s? Or around 1900, while colonialism ruled the sub continent and the Afghans were defending themselves against the Brits? What and how has it changed?

I started asking Afghan friends about their memories, asked about their parent’s or grandparent’s memories. Today, as I picked up my habit of asking people whether they knew where and how to find old photos from Afghanistan, this little precious collection was given to me by my work colleague. She thinks the photos must have been taken around 1919:

Jalalabad Sarajul Imara

Jalalabad Sarajul Imara

Jalalabad Shekar-e Taroo

Jalalabad Shekar-e Taroo

Jalalabad Bagh-e Shahi

Jalalabad Bagh-e Shahi

Amir Amanullah Khan in Paghman

King Amanullah Khan in Paghman

Jalalabad Bagh-e Shahi

Jalalabad Bagh-e Shahi

Kabul

in Kandahar

in Kandahar

Going for a hunt in Paghman

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized